People Do Come and Go (2)

“Only once in your life, I truly believe, you find someone who can completely turn your world around. You tell them things that you’ve never shared with another soul and they absorb everything you say and actually want to hear more. You share hopes for the future, dreams that will never come true, goals that were never achieved and the many disappointments life has thrown at you. When something wonderful happens, you can’t wait to tell them about it, knowing they will share in your excitement. They are not embarrassed to cry with you when you are hurting or laugh with you when you make a fool of yourself. Never do they hurt your feelings or make you feel like you are not good enough, but rather they build you up and show you the things about yourself that make you special and even beautiful. There is never any pressure, jealousy or competition but only a quiet calmness when they are around. You can be yourself and not worry about what they will think of you because they love you for who you are. The things that seem insignificant to most people such as a note, song or walk become invaluable treasures kept safe in your heart to cherish forever. Memories of your childhood come back and are so clear and vivid it’s like being young again. Colours seem brighter and more brilliant. Laughter seems part of daily life where before it was infrequent or didn’t exist at all. A phone call or two during the day helps to get you through a long day’s work and always brings a smile to your face. In their presence, there’s no need for continuous conversation, but you find you’re quite content in just having them nearby. Things that never interested you before become fascinating because you know they are important to this person who is so special to you. You think of this person on every occasion and in everything you do. Simple things bring them to mind like a pale blue sky, gentle wind or even a storm cloud on the horizon. You open your heart knowing that there’s a chance it may be broken one day and in opening your heart, you experience a love and joy that you never dreamed possible. You find that being vulnerable is the only way to allow your heart to feel true pleasure that’s so real it scares you. You find strength in knowing you have a true friend and possibly a soul mate who will remain loyal to the end. Life seems completely different, exciting and worthwhile. Your only hope and security is in knowing that they are a part of your life.”

-Bob Marley

More than sad, I am pissed off. And I thought, why would I waste my time to people who do not appreciate my effort? This is the mere reason why I don’t want to be attached. The more you get close to other, the more you get vulnerable to all the pain.

I must admit that having friends who care is real treasure. I did not regret building relationship with them. What I kinda regret is those massive efforts Ive done for them. I am not waiting to be paid off because I did those voluntarily. But yeah, sometimes, I am expecting something little from them… Now, I am not really expecting anything.

Did I cry? Nope. Why would I cry over them if I have someone who sees me and appreciates even the most little thing I’ve done for him? And I realized, I don’t need many. One is enough. And this one person is more than what I asked for.

We may not be childhood friends, or classmates or schoolmates but it feels like we’ve known each other forever.

I’m lucky Ive met this one person who never left me even if I’ve never done enough for him. We may have met in an unexpected way but the friendship that I was expecting to end soon was the one that didn’t expire.

It doesn’t really matter if we’ve just known each other for 3 years, maybe not long enough compared for others to call it real friendship, what matters is that our time together was well spent. And I can say that he has been my best buddy since I’ve met him.

He always tells me that I’ve lots of bestfriends and I always tell him, “Nope. I have just one. And it’s you.” And I really mean it when I tell him that.

I’ve never been so attached to a person before. He came just right when I felt that real friendship doesn’t exist. Not to mention that I’ve had lots of “pseudo bestfriends” when I was younger. He came into my life in perfect time.

I am lucky considering that this person is not just related to me romantically… He’s also the one guy that I will have the closest relationship to. He’s my best friend for eternity.

My friends are like spilled milk, but I never cried over spilled milk. I just clean up the mess.

Even when I feel like nobody’s around, he never failed to make me feel I’m not alone. Even on his busiest days, he will still reach out to me and make it up to me. He does things that my friends wouldn’t do for me.

Bob Marley was right. Once in your life, there is someone who can completely turn your world around. I am lucky that I have found the person worth more than many of the faces I’ve encountered before. And I am taking this friendship to the next level. If there’s something I would be giving him that I never thought of giving to my pseudofriends… That would be my life and my eternal hope for his happiness. I’d die and kill for him. He’s the only person I will never let go of.

So i’m not stopping those familiar faces from walking out of my life. I am happy and contented with one.

I think it’s time to wave good bye to the people I used to know. Till we cross paths again. xOxO.

Leave a Reply

