Because I Refuse a Lot

The only time I went inside a club was when my aunt had this thanksgiving party before flying to Canada. I am not a big fan of crowded places with stranger dancing to loud music going insane with the spirit of alcohol in their heads.

I was invited a hundred and one times but I always refused. So I was labeled “lame”,”kill joy” (killer of joy/excitement) and “boring”. Sometimes people tend to forget the term “individual differences”

Yeah I don’t party but I am not lame. I just know where I am comfortable at. And I am not comfortable seeing wasted people. I easily get dizzy when I’m in crowded places. Not just in clubs. I’m not killing the fun. I just don’t want to be the burden when I feel sick.

For me, clubbing is boring. For others, it’s fun. For me staying at home is fun, but for many it’s the most boring thing ever. So there goes our differences. I wonder why people have to put labels on everything. Just because one is different, we can label him freak already. If we call him freak just because he acts differently, then we must call ourselves freaks as well because basically, not two human beings are alike. Even identical twins are different in a thousand way.

  • I eat hotdog sandwich using a fork and I everytime I do so, people will laugh at me. I don’t eat bulky burgers, I always make them flat. I don’t know if they think I am amazing or insane. But i don’t really care because I have my own reason why I eat like that.
  • I stopped eating crabs when I was in high school. I was never allergic. And my cousins will always ask me and laugh at me whenever I tell them the reason why.
  • I don’t eat chicken legs. I am not allergic as well. I never liked seeing blood on it but there’s another reason that I never liked telling people cause they think it’s shallow.
  • I don’t go to Starbucks except when I have to meet some VIPs. Still, I don’t order coffee.
  • I don’t like going shopping.
  • I don’t floss, i mean dental floss.
  • I always have bangs to cover my forehead. My mom would always ask me to put my headband on but I always refuse. And I always cover my ears even when I tie my hair.
  • I don’t wear earrings. But I have piercings. I’ve received gifts but I never wore them.
  • I walk on the street with my eyes almost close.
  • Even my parents will label me bizarre, surreal, and weird. And I just give them a shrug whenever.

I do and don’t do things because I am freak or lame. I have my own reasons, just like everybody else.

Why do I eat hotdog sandwich using a fork?

I have a problem with my jaws. I can hear them creaking whenever I try to open my mouth wide, and they hurt a bit. It’s not me being vain or being afraid to look odd. It’s some body issues. Same reason why I like flat burgers. Maybe now you know why I refuse to eat hotdog sandwiches unless I have a fork.

I stopped eating crabs when I was in high school

It may be funny but the reason why I don’t crabs is the picture of them dying which never went out of my head. After the one time I watched them as they turned their color from gray to orange, I saw their eyes got dilated as if they are asking for my help, as if they wanted me to get them out of the pot. Seeing them dying little by little was totally cruel.

I don’t eat chicken legs.

Aside from the hating the fact that chicken legs most of the time have blood stains even when they are cooked, I had one friend who was labeled “chicken’s leg, pork’s leg”. Her other leg was thinner than the other. I know it’s shallow but I just can’t eat chicken legs because that made her life kinda sad when we were younger. I will rather skip lunch than to eat chicken leg. I will still refuse even it’s for free.

I don’t go to Starbucks except when I have to meet some VIPs. Still, I don’t order coffee.

Even if Starbucks sells one of the best coffee in town, they say, and the aroma is really inviting, they say, I never ordered one. I can’t drink coffee because first, I’ve got issues when it comes to beverages. Be it coffee or tea, hot or cold. Health issues. Second, I am not willing to spend hundreds for a cup of coffee. Third, I’ve got my own wifi device. Let’s admit, aside from the coffee, their wifi zone is their second bestseller. Fourth, I honestly think that Starbucks is just another place where social climbers will take their selfies and post it on instagram. Peace.

I don’t like going shopping. I like grocery stores.

I’d rather go to the grocery store than go shopping. Shopping is luxury. It’s when you buy unnecessary stuffs, it’s when you roam around looking for a pair of shoes that was worn by your favorite celebrity when she appeared on the Ellen Show or when she walked on the red carpet. If I am not willing to spend a hunded for a coffee, then what more if it will cost a thousand? But I make exceptions. When it’s really really really NECESSARY and it’s not overpriced.

I don’t floss, i mean dental floss.

You offer me floss and I refuse. You find me not flossing unhygienic? Even If I don’t floss, I’m pretty sure that my breath is fresher and my teeth are cleaner than your neighbor’s or your brother’s. I don’t floss because I easily bleed. Even if I just brush my teeth, (I use soft bristles) I will surely see blood when I rinse. What more if a thread hits my gum?

I always have bangs to cover my forehead. My mom would always ask me to put my headband on but I always refuse. And I always cover my ears even when I tie my hair.

A plane can land on my forehead. My forehead’s too wide that you can make an airport out of it. That’s the use of my bangs, to make it appear smaller. And what about my ears? they are too sensitive to heat. There’s need for extra protection or they will get burn.

I don’t wear earrings. But I have piercings. I’ve received gifts but I never wore them.

I’ve got my piercings when I was still months old. Not that I don’t want to look girly or I don’t like the gifts. Don’t feel bad if you don’t see me wearing accessories. I am allergic to earrings. And my ears hurt so bad that I can’t sleep at night when I have allergic reactions.

I walk on the street with my eyes almost close.

My friends will always ask me why and people on the street will take a second look at me. I know I look odd whenever I do that. And my friends would want to totally stay away from me whenever. I’m not mimicking Davis’ eyes. They are just really sensitive to light. Why not just wear shades? My ears are not level with each other making it hard for me to get my glasses properly positioned. It either goes slanted on one side or drops off totally, reason why I refused accepting the shades my friend offered me.

See. There are endless reasons why I do things my own way. It’s not me being a freak or lame. If I refuse, I’m not trying to be a VIP. So stop the label. Respect individual differences.

Leave a Reply

