7 Vertically, 3 Horizontally

7 inches vertically, 3 inches horizontally.

Those are my hand’s measurement, not some other thing.

I was told once that my hands measurement are close to a guy’s. I am not tall but I am not that short but my hands are way bigger and I don’t know why.

This article is not about the hands or measurement, it’s about us being being stereotype. I have read one way to determine if you’re talking to a guy or girl is by just measuring his hand first wrist to the tip of the middle finger and the width of the palm. And if you get a bigger measurement, that means you’re talking to a guy. and if you get a smaller one, you’re either a girl or a midget. But it doesn’t always apply to everybody, right? I remember that once I was riding a bike and a kid asked me if I am gay. I was stunned. I had barber’s cut when I was younger so I looked a little manly but I was wearing a pink shirt. I was not offended so I just simply told him, Yes. I am gay. (but I am not, of course)

Just by that example, we can see how people can be so stereotype with matters.

Students getting low grades = lowest i.q.

People wearing suit and tie = manager

Guys with heavy eyeliner = punks

Guys wearing pink = gay

Girls with short hair = lesbian

Girl with a big hand = transexual

Guy with a small hand = transexual

STEREOTYPE: a widely held but fixed and oversimplified image or idea of a particular type of person or thing.

Let’s set some more examples

When you see a girl hanging out with guys a lot, what do you call her? A slut. When you see a guy going out with different girls, what do you call him? A womanizer. Instead of calling them friendly and outgoing, we prefer to give them the conventional image. We are fond categorizing people. And that’s not so nice.

When an older man marries a younger woman or vice versa, we call him pedophile. When a younger man marries an older lady or vice versa, we call him gold digger.

When someone studies accounting, he’s good in math. When someone flunks at accounting, he’s not good in math.

People come from different places and they have different ways of doing things. Like me, I had short hair when I was younger not because I was a lesbian, but because I thought that was more efficient. Easy to shampoo and easy to rinse. (Even lesbians today have long hair).

Let’s take it into another level. Let’s discuss racial stereotypes.

Racial stereotypes are exaggerations, or false beliefs and expectations associated with certain racial groups.

This is probably the second worst after Racial Discrimination. For example, when you’re jamaican, you like reggae or when you’re chinese, you’re jaundice and you make cheap products or seeing a middle eastern man and assuming he’s a terrorist.

That’s ridiculous. Most often, they are rude and unacceptable. Stereotyping is a bad thing, simply put, it’s like seeing one characteristic and as if you already know the whole identity. You cannot just go around and ask a guy if he’s japanese if he has this squinty look on his eyes. That would be embarrassing on your part and might be offensive on his.

Liberal-minded types are good at spotting, and calling out, this kind of stereotype. But we’re less good when it comes to “positive” stereotypes. It’s easier to criticize than to give compliments. We should see people as they are individually not generally. We might be missing the fact that everyone is “unique”.

We shouldn’t just ignore this issue because it always leads to bigger issues of discrimination, racism, sexism, scapegoating and the likes. Everything starts from the small, when left unattended, it becomes big until it is out of control.

I know we are all hoping for a better world but there are things that are out of our reach. The change will not come from the outside but it should come from ourselves. There will always be social issues but as long as we don’t make them worse and we respect each other’s lives, there will always be a chance for a better world.

Leave a Reply

