The Day I Stopped Loving Myself

And I have changed for the better, not for the worse.

The day I stopped loving myself was also the day I realized that there is more to loving than one can imagine.

I stopped loving myself but I started loving another

Call me a fool, but that was the same day I truly loved somebody.

Have you asked yourself if you’re giving enough love?

Have you ever spent a night thinking if somebody you care for is asleep and having sweet dreams?

Have you ever spent the night watching somebody sleep, looking after him, to make sure he is fine?

No matter how late is it, not matter how sleepy you are, you just lay there, protecting him from the darkness of the night.

If you have ever put somebody else’s needs and convenience over yours, then I must say, you have truly loved someone.

I stopped loving myself and started loving him,

And it’s the realest thing I have felt my entire life.

To give so much thought about someone who isn’t your blood and flesh,

To care for someone more than you love yourself.

I stopped loving myself and started loving him,

It’s the one thing I have done right in my life

To make him feel less lonely, to make him feel he is loved

To make him feel he is wanted, to make him feel he is needed.

I, myself, am living in the world of loneliness

And I, myself, am longing for love.

The day I stopped loving myself and started loving him

Is the day I stopped longing for love and started giving.

And I loved him truly, I can say, for I’d pray for his happiness

Not giving so much thought about mine for it is not needed

The day I stopped loving myself and I started loving him taught me one reality

That you will find joy and contentment when you give more than when you receive.

The day I stopped loving myself and started loving him helped me find what is missing

To love another person and share my heart with without too much asking

To be there for him, listen to him, cry and smile with him,

There I found myself whole and happy and most real.

 

Leave a Reply

